Americas Directorate

The Americas Directorate is a vibrant and effective Directorate, responsible for contributing to the promotion and improvement of Kenya’s interests in the Americas region.

The Directorate’s mission is to pursue political and socio-economic advancement for national benefit; through effective Diplomatic engagement with the following countries/organizations in the Americas region: U.S.A., Canada, Colombia, Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Venezuela, Mexico, Uruguay, Peru, Paraguay, Panama, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Bahamas, St. Vincent & Grenada, Guyana, French Guyana, Suriname, Grenada, Haiti, Bolivia, Puerto Rico, Barbados, Jamaica, Belize, Cuba, Trinidad & Tobago, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, Ecuador, GRULAC (Group of Latin & Caribbean States), Southern Common Market (MERCOSUR), Organization of American States (OAS), and Caribbean Community & Common Market (CARICOM).

Our activities include:-

  • Liaising with Kenya missions/Honorary Consulates in the Americas region;
  • Liaising and coordinating bilateral activities between Missions accredited in Nairobi and Government/Public institutions;
  • Facilitating and concluding Joint Commissions of Cooperation (JCCs);
  • Monitoring and implementing MOUs/Agreements within the Americas Region;
  • Facilitating State and other official visits including benchmarking missions to and from the Americas Region;
  • Among others.


  1. Kenya Embassy, Washington D.C. – accredited to Mexico; (Kenya is also represented in the US by the Kenya
  2. Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York and Kenya Consulate General in Los Angeles);
  3. Kenya High Commission, Ottawa – accredited to Cuba and Honorary Consulate in Vancouver;
  4. Kenya Embassy, Brazil – accredited to Chile, Argentina, Venezuela and Colombia;

Plans are underway to establish a resident Mission in Havana, Cuba and appoint Honorary Consuls in the following regions:-

  1. USA –Boston, Massachusetts; Dallas, Texas; Chicago, Illinois; Atlanta, Georgia; Minneapolis, Minnesota; and Seattle, Washington.
  2. Argentina – Buenos Aires
  3. Chile – Santiago
  4. Mexico – Mexico City
  5. Venezuela – Caracas
  6. Colombia – Bogota
  7. Trinidad and Tobago – Port of Spain