Kenya to Serve Another Term at CMAG

London, Tuesday, April 17, 2018 (MFA Press) – Kenya will serve for another two-year term in the Commonwealth Action Group (CMAG), the custodian of the group’s close-to-heart values.

The Commonwealth places a high priority on being a community of peaceful, democratic countries which promotes and protects shared values, including the separation of powers, rule of law and human rights.

CMAG established in 1995, is the custodian of these fundamental political values and help the Secretary-General in seeing to it that timely missions are visited on any of the members having challenges on these values.

The group assesses concerns such as the unjustified postponement of elections, egregious violations of human rights, the undermining of the judiciary, lack of space for the opposition, and systematic constraints on civil society and the media.

Kenya has been in CMAG, that is made up of a rotating group of foreign ministers from eight countries, drawn from different regions, for two years now. Its meetings are convened by the Commonwealth Secretary-General with the Commonwealth Secretariat providing secretarial support.

Addressing a CMAG meeting convened today on the sidelines of the ongoing Commonwealth Head of Government Meeting in London, Cabinet Secretary Amb Monica Juma said Kenya appreciates the role Commonwealth had played during Kenya’s electioneering period last year.

“We appreciate the Commonwealth Secretariat for sending professional observers that provided constructive advice during and after the two presidential polls that Kenya went through in 60 days,” said the CS.

She called on the Secretariat to follow through electioneering processes of members and not to stop at the presentation of reports.

“There are many issues that arise after elections and the role that the Commonwealth plays for members should continue way beyond the presentation of elections reports,” said CS Juma.

The meeting adopted the report which among other issues included a report on Maldives which withdrew its membership on October 13, 2016, and matters of interest to ministers.

The current members of CMAG include Cyprus (Chair), Guyana, India, Kenya, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Solomon Islands.