Africa & African Union

Kenya’s Foreign Policy identifies Africa as its primary focus. Strengthening Kenya’s bilateral relations with African countries and engagement with African regional organizations is therefore imperative. In order to realise Kenya’s strategic objectives in Africa, the Ministry recognises the need to prioritise engagement with the African countries and organisations. This would entail allocation of adequate human resources to the Division and Kenya diplomatic Missions within Africa.

The Functions of the Department are: coordination of bilateral relations with African countries including joint border commissions and joint commissions for co-operation; co-ordination of African Union affairs; coordination of Kenya’s engagement with regional organizations including Great Lakes Conference and IGAD; co-ordination of regional peace and security matters; analysis of emerging issues within Africa and their impact on Kenya’s Foreign Policy; coordination of political aspects of regional economic organizations; preparation of political briefs, reports and statements; co-ordination of candidatures within the AU, COMESA, IGAD, EAC, SADC and the Great Lakes and coordination of bilateral activities of the Kenya diplomatic missions within the African countries.

The Missions under Africa Region include: Addis Ababa–Ethiopia, Abuja–Nigeria, Bujumbura–Burundi, Cairo–Egypt, Dar-es-salaam– Tanzania, Gaborone–Botswana, Harare–Zimbabwe, Juba–South Sudan, Kampala–Uganda, Khartoum–Sudan, Kigali–Rwanda, Kinshasa–Democratic Republic of Congo, Lusaka–Zambia, Pretoria–South Africa, ALgiers–Algeria, Windhoek–Namibia and United Nations Office in Nairobi (UNON), Gigiri.